It’s Paczki Day (aka jelly doughnut day)!

Much like the French Fat Tuesday, Polish Fat Thursday is a day dedicated to big eating. It marks the start of the final week of pre-Lent celebrations. This year, Fat Thursday is Feb. 16.  While I am not Catholic who cares!  Any excuse to eat a doughnut is good enough for me.

Paczki’s are the Polish version of jelly filled doughnuts.  They are a bit lighter than the American version but just as tasty!  The reasoning(do we real need a reason to eat these?) is it is said that if you eat one you will have good luck for the rest of the year.  So I am wandering, if I eat 2 or 3 what would happen?

The best way to really tell you more about this interesting holiday is from one of my favorite American TV shows, “Sunday Morning”.  Here is a clip that talking more about it… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0P5t9M6vIRs

or if you are feeling really amphibious and what to make them yourself, here is another great Youtube clip showing how to…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HSMqZvDUUEY

Well off I go to the local bakery and get our share of paczki’s!  Remember the saying, when in Poland do as the Polish.  I think this might be tradition that we have to partake in!!

 

Categories: Food, Holidays, Poland | Tags: , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “It’s Paczki Day (aka jelly doughnut day)!

  1. I want some……….LOL they look tasty and I don’t even like jelly doughnuts but I want to try them.

    Thanks,
    Pamela
    Still Dating My Spouse
    http://www.stilldatingmyspouse.com

    Newbie Blog Hop

  2. You are going to fall in love with these donuts! After eating such heavenly fried yeasty beauties, the American baking soda (or sometimes baking powder) versions just don’t compare. Smacznego!!

  3. they look tasty and I don’t even like jelly doughnuts but I want to try them.

  4. Jelly Donuts were my favorite as a kid. I can’t believe there is a Jelly Donut Day!
    ABH

  5. Keep posting

  6. These look really good! I don’t need an excuse to eat doughnuts, but having someone make them for me would help!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

